Re-Organising Government

 The Government has 25 Ministerial Departments, 22 non-Ministerial Departments, 370 Agencies and other public bodies, 76 high profile groups within departments, 11 public corporations and 3 devolved administrations.  It is just too big.  It has grown like Topsy as politicians have added layer upon layer of complexity.  It can be made simpler and more purposeful.

The Government’s many functions – security, welfare, health, education etc – all add up to one over-riding role:  to protect and enhance the well-being of British citizens.  It does this by governing efficiently, by keeping British citizens safe and by ensuring that they are fed, sheltered and healthy and have the necessities of life.  And increasingly by giving each citizen the opportunity to develop and flourish.  In particular this can be expressed as the 13 clear purposes shown below.

How should the Government organise itself?  Simple.  For each purpose there should be one Department  with a clear Statement of Policy to define what it is to achieve.  All other departments and agencies may be incorporated into the Ministerial departments.:-

  1.  Cabinet Office – Running the Government efficiently
  2. Her Majesty’s Treasury – Managing the economy
  3. Foreign and Commonwealth Office – Keeping us safe from threats from foreign countries and, with international co-operation, safe from threats of human extinction
  4. Department of Energy and Climate Change – Ensuring an adequate supply of energy while playing our part in international moves to keep us safe from climate change
  5. Home Office – Keeping us safe in the UK from crime, terrorism and illegal immigration
  6. Department of Health – Providing a world class health service free at the point of delivery
  7. Department for Food and Agriculture   – Ensuring a reliable supply of reasonably priced good quality food
  8. Department for Housing, Communities and Local Government  –  Ensuring that people have adequate housing and that they live in supportive communities with a say in what affects their lives.
  9. Department for Work and Pensions  – Ensuring that every British citizen has sufficient income for the necessities of life
  10. Department for Education – Ensuring that British citizens are educated and trained in skills that will equip them for a productive and fulfilling life
  11. Department for Business, Innovation and Skills – Providing the environment in which British businesses can flourish
  12. Department for Environment, Land Use, Transport and Utilities – Managing the use of land as a source of amenity and pride for current and future generations
  13. Department for Culture, Media and Sport – Creating a culture which encourages citizens to celebrate being British.

With clear goals and freedom from chaotic political interference our Civil Servants will be able to use their undoubted talents to make significant and continuing improvements which will benefit us all.  The Government role will largely be to monitor progress and to approve major initiatives.

The Government Organisation Changes in Detail are set out in this section.

In This Section

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.